2014 Louis Jadot Mâcon-Villages

What it says on the back of the bottle:

Origin:  Produced in the Mâconnais region of Burgundy which is well-suited to the Chardonnay grape.  It is made without oak contact to maximize the vibrant flavor.

Grape:  100% unoaked Chardonnay

Flavor:  Bright and crisp, with notes of apple; a classic expression of this Burgundy grape.

Pairings:  Perfect as an aperitif or with shellfish, crab cakes, or goat cheese.

_____

Analysis:

The wine was a clear light straw in the glass with no signs of effervescence.

The nose was moderate with signs of fresh apple/pear and florals.

Tart with apple and melon flavors.

Smooth, medium finish that coats the tongue and has honey flavors

_____

Thoughts:

The scent of the wine was floral (which usually means I won’t like it;  I’m not particularly a fan of drinking perfume…). I did smell some hints of apple along with the florals.  Or maybe every time I’ve smelled florals, I should have been smelling apples…  I dunno.

The taste was tart with some sweetness. There were tastes of apple and honeydew.  The finish was enjoyable and smooth with a continuation of honeydew dissolving into just honey.  I enjoyed the way the finish seemed to coat my tongue.

Ultimately, this wine reminded me of both Reislings and Pinot Grigios.  I haven’t had many Chardonnays I like, but this is one I enjoyed and would like to explore more unoaked Burgundies.

_____

Rating:  I liked it.

Why:  it tasted better than most Chardonnays I’ve had.

Sittings to finish:  2

Best way to describe this wine to a non wine drinker:  slipping into cool, perfectly tucked 1 billion thread count sheets at a fancy hotel.

_____

Stats:

Vintage:  2014

Varietal(s):  100 % Chardonnay

Location: France

Bought from:  Jewel-Osco

Price:  14.99

Paired with:  coconut milk-steamed rice (if you’ve never tried this, you really should…) and seasoned vegetables.

Wife’s rating:  I didn’t like the wine in general, but I liked the aftertaste.

Leave a Reply

